An Execution (by invitation only)

Dates and Times

Tue 11 - Sat 29 Sept (previews 11-12) at 7:15pm

See all upcoming performances

Ticket information

£15/10 (conc.) £10 previews

Book Tickets

Part of our Autumn 2018 programme. Browse the full season here

Take advantage of our double-bill ticket offer, and book two different shows on the same night for just £20! Simply add the tickets for both shows into your basket and we’ll do the rest. Click here to view the double-billed show.

Presented by Gemma Brockis

The prisoner’s fate has been sealed. Sort of.

Because if there’s one crime in this world that we can all agree deserves the ultimate punishment, it is this: Opacity. The prisoner is too opaque. Not at all clear. Far too complicated and worse than that, not real – not a real kind of person. You can’t actually put your finger on it. On what’s wrong. You want to but you can’t, they won’t let you which is just really annoying.

So at the end of the day we’ll have a beheading which should provide something concrete for us to move forward from. Some solid ground we can all agree on.

Because we can all agree on death.
We all share that.
That’s right – isn’t it?

Inspired by the brutal and mercurial writing of Vladimir Nabokov.
Performed in a cell shared by audience and performers.
Created by Gemma Brockis, Michael Regnier and the company.
Reworked from an earlier version that was Time Out Critics’ choice.

Supported by the Wellcome Trust.

14+

Reviews

“A very special and at times shocking piece which in short is always brilliantly executed.” – Time Out 

About the company

Gemma Brockis has been creating alternative theatrical experiences for nearly 20 years. She is co-founder of the legendary Shunt and performed in all their productions. Her most recent work was Kingdom Come, a show about the English civil war for the RSC.

The cast includes Simon Kane and Tom Lyall.

gemmabrockis.com | Twitter | #AnExecution 

Image credit: (c) Gemma Brockis

Upcoming Performances

Tue 11 Sep, 2018
7:15 pm
Wed 12 Sep, 2018
7:15 pm
Thu 13 Sep, 2018
7:15 pm
Fri 14 Sep, 2018
7:15 pm
Sat 15 Sep, 2018
7:15 pm
Mon 17 Sep, 2018
7:15 pm
Tue 18 Sep, 2018
7:15 pm
Wed 19 Sep, 2018
7:15 pm
Thu 20 Sep, 2018
7:15 pm
Fri 21 Sep, 2018
7:15 pm
Sat 22 Sep, 2018
7:15 pm
Mon 24 Sep, 2018
7:15 pm
Tue 25 Sep, 2018
7:15 pm
Wed 26 Sep, 2018
7:15 pm
Thu 27 Sep, 2018
7:15 pm
Fri 28 Sep, 2018
7:15 pm
Sat 29 Sep, 2018
7:15 pm